Sheila's Books Read

Sheila's bookshelf: read

What Would the Founding Fathers Think: A Young American's guide to understanding the mess our country is in and how we get out
Isabelle Webb: Legend of the Jewel
Captive Heart
Cobble Cavern
Caller ID
Promises
Protected,
Summer of Secrets
On Little Wings
We Lived in Heaven: Spiritual Accounts of Souls Coming to Earth
Christ's gifts to women
A Woman's power: threads that bind us to god
Scary School
Hope's journey
Blue
Targets in Ties
Crater Lake: Battle for Wizard Island
Venom
With a Name like Love
Sean Griswold's head


Sheila's favorite books »

2021 Goodreads Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge

2021 Reading Challenge
Sheila has read 6 books toward her goal of 90 books.
hide

Monday, May 10, 2021

A Torn Allegiance- A Royal Regency Romance by Jen Geigle Johnson: Blog Tour Review and Giveaway



Product Details

  • Title:A Torn Allegiance  
  • Author: Jen Geigle Johnson
  • Series: Royal Regency
  • Publisher : Covenant Communications, Inc. (May 3, 2021)
  • Genre: Regency Romance
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 288 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1524418684
  • ***I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy from the publisher. All opinions are my own***


Book Summary

When the man she must spy on becomes the man she loves...

Peace is tenuous in the small kingdom of Oldenburg, and the looming threat of invasion from Napoleon weighs heavily on the royal family. Their country's best chance for safety lies in strengthening their alliance with the English. So it is that Prince Hayes Wilhelm finds himself returning to England, where he hopes a prominent duke can help him protect his country.

Lady Elsie longs to make a difference in the world, but spying was not quite what she had in mind. So when her father, the Duke of Shelby, approaches her about keeping a close eye on the visiting crown prince of Oldenburg, she reluctantly agrees. But the outspoken young woman did not anticipate finding in Hayes a man who shares―and respects―her progressive ideas. Their mutual attraction is undeniable, but Elsie cannot forget her charge to spy on the man who is quickly stealing her heart. With the threat of war looming ever closer, Elsie and Hayes must consider carefully whom to trust―before their secrets tear them apart.



My Review
I was absolutely thrilled to read this second book in the Royal Regency Romance Series. I fell in love with the royal family from Oldenburg and the many handsome brothers. This second book is all about the oldest brother, Prince Hayes Wilhelm. He's returned to England to further strengthen his country's alliance with England as France and Napoleon is threatening to invade his country. His main focus though is on the fascinating daughter of the Duke of Shelby.

We also get to know the beautiful Lady Elsie. Not only is she a beauty but is also intelligent, caring, and has many views on what should be happening in the world...much to her mother's chagrin. Elsie's father "assigns" her to spy on Prince Hayes to find out about his true intentions of being in England. Along the way with Prince Hayes and Elsie spending time together, a friendship quickly takes a turn towards strong feelings heading to a romance. The biggest problem is who can either of them trust? I loved seeing this couple grow close while still trying to do their separate duties to their countries. The romance is great in this novel but has the right amount of intrigue to keep you wondering what will happen, right along with the characters. 

This is an excellent addition to this series and I can't wait to find out which brother will be the lead in the next book. Fans of Regency and Royal books need to read, A Torn Allegiance. 



Read my review of  Book #1-A Foreign Crown

Meet Author Jen Geigle Johnson
An award winning author, including the GOLD in Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards, Jen Geigle Johnson discovered her passion for England while kayaking on the Thames near London as a young teenager.
She once greeted an ancient turtle under the water by grabbing her fin. She knows all about the sound a water-ski makes on glassy water and how to fall down steep moguls with grace. During a study break date in college, she sat on top of a jeep's roll bars up in the mountains and fell in love.
Now, she loves to share bits of history that might otherwise be forgotten. Whether in Regency England, the French Revolution, or Colonial America, her romance novels are much like life is supposed to be: full of adventure.

https://www.jengeiglejohnson.com

Twitter--@authorjen
Instagram--@authorlyjen
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJenGeigleJohnson/


Purchase Your Own Copy Of A Torn Allegiance


                                                                                     

     
                                                                                   

***Enter the Giveaway for your chance to win a copy of***
A Torn Allegiance



No comments:

Post a Comment