Sheila's Books Read

Sheila's bookshelf: read

What Would the Founding Fathers Think: A Young American's guide to understanding the mess our country is in and how we get out
Isabelle Webb: Legend of the Jewel
Captive Heart
Cobble Cavern
Caller ID
Summer of Secrets
On Little Wings
We Lived in Heaven: Spiritual Accounts of Souls Coming to Earth
Christ's gifts to women
A Woman's power: threads that bind us to god
Scary School
Hope's journey
Targets in Ties
Crater Lake: Battle for Wizard Island
With a Name like Love
Sean Griswold's head

Sheila's favorite books »

2018 Reading Challenge

2018 Reading Challenge

2018 Reading Challenge
Sheila has read 0 books toward her goal of 60 books.

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Review of, Murder By The Way, by Betsy Brannon Green

Product Details:

  • Title:Murder By The Way
  • Author: Betsy Brannon Green
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Covenant Communications Inc.; 1st edition (June 1, 2012)
  • Genre: Mystery/Suspense
  • ISBN-10: 1621081230
  • ISBN-13: 978-1621081234


Book Description:

June 1, 2012
As Kennedy Killingsworth prepares to step into the next phase of her life alongside her soon-to-be husband, Luke, the past reemerges and interrupts with full force. Luke is suddenly called away to testify at a Marine Corps trial and is forced to leave Kennedy soon after they are declared husband and wife. Then an old business associate, Drake Langston, announces he is returning to Midway to finish renovating the town and needs Kennedy's help to smooth things over with the locals. Kennedy jumps on board to distract herself from Luke's absence. Little does she know that there will soon be plenty to distract her. After an unexplainable prison van accident leaves a woman dead and three prisoners missing, the town feels rattled and worried. As Kennedy (and her ex-husband, Cade) gets involved in investigating the crash, more and more mysterious events unfold, and if she's not careful, she could be the next murder by the way.
My Review: Murder By the Way is the third book in the Kennedy Killingsworth series. It is just as good as the first two books in the series. I love the inclusion of the familiar and comfortable characters that Betsy Brannon Green's readers have come to know and love. Some examples are Miss Eugena, Miss Ida Jean, Winston, Mark and Kate. These are characters from The Haggerty Series that I absolutely love!

Once again Betsy's books are full of mystery, intrigue, humor, and of course a lot of good food that the characters are cooking and eating. Recipes are always included at the end of the book. One that I want to try the most is, Miss Eugenia's S'More Cookies. In the book she deep fries them, but I think I will bake them the normal way. I also want to try, Miss Iris's Lemon Chicken, which is a little bit healthier than the cookies.

I really like Kennedy in this book, but I wish that there had been more of her new husband, Luke. He has become one of my favorite characters. There wasn't as much action as there had been in book two, but there was plenty of "interaction" with the characters. The characters had more opportunities to figure out things mentally this time around. The ending played out almost how I had been figuring it would, but with some added twists and turns. I wasn't disappointed in the end, and it just made me look forward to the next book in the series. At least I hope that there is more to come. I am adding this book to my list of quick, summer reads. You can read this alone, but I highly suggest that you read book one and two in the series first. I give this book 4 stars.

About the Author: 

Betsy Brannon Green currently lives in Bessemer, AL, which is a suburb of Birmingham. She has been married to her husband, Butch, for thirty-two wonderful years, and they have eight children, one dauther-in-law, three sons-in-law, and eight grandchildren. She is a Sunday School teacher in the Bessemer Ward and works for Hueytown Elementary School. She loves to read, when she can find the time, and watch sporting events, especially if they involve her children. Although born in Salt Lake City, Betsy has spent most of her life in the South. Her writing and her life have been strongly influenced by the town of Headland, AL. and the many generous gracious people who live there. Her first book, Hearts in Hiding was published in 2001, followed by Never Look Back, 2002, Until Proven Guilty, 2002, Don't Close you eyes, 2003, Above Suspicion, 2003, Foul Play, 2004, Silenced, 2004, Copycat, 2005, Poison, 2005, Doublecross, 2006, Christmas in Haggerty,2006, Backtrack 2007, Hazardous Duty, 2007, Above and Beyond, 2008, The Spirit of Christmas, 2008, Code of Honor, 2009, Murder by the Book, 2009, and Murder by Design 2010.

***I was given a review copy of this book. In no way did this influence the honest review that was given.***


Kindly Bookmark and Share it:

1 comment:

  1. Sounds like a great book! Thanks for stopping by my blog and entering the giveaway. =)
    ~Shelby @ Gobs and Gobs of Books


Link Within

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...